Qatar and the UN

Overview on Qatar’s partnership with the United Nations

HE Sheikha Alya Ahmed bin Saif Al Thani

Qatar has been a member of the United Nations since 1971.

In the same year, The Permanent Mission of the State of Qatar to the United Nations in New York was created with the aim of representing Qatar and managing its relationship with the international organisation.

Qatar’s current Ambassador to the UN is Her Excellency Sheikha Alya Ahmed bin Saif Al Thani.

Qatar values its strategic partnership with the United Nations and has always worked towards achieving its goals, including maintaining international peace and security, supporting international development, promoting human rights, providing humanitarian assistance, and participating in collective action to address existing and emerging challenges facing the world.

Qatar’s commitment to the UN
Qatar has and continues to make generous financial contributions to various UN bodies and entities, aimed at supporting projects in the areas of development and humanitarian aid.

Exemplifying this, on the side-lines of the 2018 Doha Forum HE the Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs Sheikh Mohammed bin Abdulrahman Al Thani and HE the Secretary-General of the United Nations António Guterres signed several agreements demonstrating Qatar’s active role in achieving international peace, security and sustainable development.

The agreements included a $500 million (QAR 1.82 billion) pledge to various UN programmes and the establishment of four new UN offices in Doha. The agreement further pledged annual support to the UN Development Programme (UNDP), the UN Children’s Fund (UNICEF), the UN Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East (UNRWA), and the UN High Commissioner for Refugees.

Qatar plays an active role in UN collective action:

 

Qatar is also committed to the development of sustainable programmes and initiatives, in alliance with the United Nations.

As of 9 September 2020, Education Above All Foundation (EAA) and its global partners UNICEF and UNESCO marked the first International Day to Protect Education from Attack. World leaders and activists addressed the need for immediate on-the-ground action to protect education from attack, declaring that silence over the deliberate killing of children in classrooms places decision-makers on the wrong side of history.

Established by UN General Assembly resolution (A/RES/74/275), following a call to action by Her Highness Sheikha Moza bint Nasser, Chairperson of EAA and UN Sustainable Development Goals Advocate, the International Day is a global platform for decision-makers to focus on safeguarding education during conflict and peacebuilding. It draws attention to the plight of more than 75 million 3-to-18-year-olds living in 35 crisis-affected countries that need urgent educational support.

The State of Qatar Delegation to the 75th Session of the General Assembly of the United Nations

A high-level delegation led by His Highness Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani virtually participated in the 75th Session of the General Assembly of the United Nations in New York.

Vision

The State of Qatar, in line with its foreign policy, is a nation that is committed to the principles of international law and the United Nations Charter in contributing to security and stability.

Our Message

In line with the main pillars set in the 2030 National Vision, the State of Qatar, through its efforts as both a key player and responsible citizen in regional and international development and cooperation, aims at resolving conflicts through dialogue and peaceful means. We are an open, outward looking nation that seeks to be a model of change for the region, with a bold and positive vision for the future that is fully aligned with the UN’s values.
The State of Qatar’s efforts are also directed towards total respect for the sovereignty of countries and the principles of good-neighbourliness as a means to create communities of stability, development and social justice. The State of Qatar believes that through trusted partnerships underpinned by international frameworks, we can contribute to security and stability in both the Arab region and beyond.

His Highness the Amir addressing the 75th Session of the UN General Assembly

دولة قطر والأمم المتحدة

لمحة عامة عن شراكة دولة قطر مع الأمم المتحدة

سعادة السفيرة الشيخة علياء أحمد بن سيف آل ثاني

انضمت دولة قطر إلى عضوية منظمة الأمم المتحدة عام 1971.
في العام ذاته، تمّ تشكيل الوفد الدائم لدولة قطر لدى الأمم المتحدة في نيويورك بهدف تمثيل  قطر وإدارة علاقتها مع المنظمة الدولية.
حالياً، تشغل سعادة السفيرة الشيخة علياء أحمد بن سيف آل ثاني منصب المندوب الدائم لدولة قطر لدى الأمم المتحدة.
تثمن دولة قطر شراكتها الاستراتيجية مع الأمم المتحدة، ولطالما عملت من أجل تحقيق أهدافها ومبادئها، بما في ذلك الحفاظ على الأمن والسلم الدوليين، ودعم جهود التنمية الدولية، وتعزيز حقوق الإنسان وترسيخها، وتوفير الإغاثات الإنسانية، والمشاركة في الجهود والمبادرات الجماعية لمعالجة التحديات الحالية والناشئة التي تواجه العالم.

التزام دولة قطر تجاه الأمم المتحدة

تواصل دولة قطر تقديم مساهمات مالية سخية للعديد من الهيئات والكيانات التابعة للأمم المتحدة، الرامية إلى دعم المشاريع في مجالي التنمية والمساعدات الإنسانية.

ومن بين ذلك، توقيع سعادة الشيخ محمد بن عبد الرحمن آل ثاني نائب رئيس مجلس الوزراء وزير الخارجية وسعادة السيد أنطونيو غوتيريش، الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة، عدة اتفاقيات على هامش فعاليات منتدى الدوحة 2018، اتساقاً مع سياسة دولة قطر الخارجية ومسؤوليتها المشتركة كشريك فاعل في جهود المجتمع الدولي في  لتحقيق السلم والأمن الدوليين وتحقيق التنمية المستدامة.

وتضمنت الاتفاقيات تقديم دولة قطر دعماً لتمويل منظمات الأمم المتحدة بمبلغ 500 مليون دولار أمريكي (1.82 مليار ريال قطري)، وإنشاء أربعة مكاتب جديدة للأمم المتحدة في الدوحة. كما تضمنت الاتفاقية تعهّدا من دولة قطر بتقديم دعم سنوي لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي، وصندوق الأمم المتحدة للطفولة (اليونيسف)، ووكالة الأمم المتحدة لإغاثة وتشغيل اللاجئين الفلسطينيين في الشرق الأدنى (الأونروا)، والمفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين.

لدولة قطر مشاركة فاعلة في اجتماعات الأمم المتحدة والجهود الجماعية:

كما تلتزم دولة قطر بتطوير البرامج والمبادرات المستدامة بالتعاون مع الأمم المتحدة.

وفي  9 سبتمبر 2020، أحيت مؤسسة التعليم فوق الجميع إلى جانب شريكيها العالميين اليونيسف واليونسكو اليوم الدولي الأول لحماية التعليم من الاعتداءات، وذلك عقب إجماع قادة ونشطاء العالم على الحاجة إلى اتخاذ إجراءات فورية وملموسة لحماية التعليم من الاعتداءات، وإعلانهم أن الصمت تجاه القتل المتعمد للأطفال في الفصول الدراسية يضع صانعي القرار على الجانب الخاطئ من التاريخ.

وقد أعلن هذا اليوم الذي سيتم الاحتفال به سنوياً في التاسع من سبتمبر بموجب قرار الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة 74/275،  عقب دعوة وجهتها صاحبة السمو الشيخة موزا بنت ناصر، رئيس مجلس إدارة مؤسسة “التعليم فوق الجميع” وعضو مجموعة المدافعين عن أهداف التنمية المستدامة للأمم المتحدة، ليكون اليوم الدولي لحماية التعليم من الاعتداءات منصة عالمية لصناع القرار لتركيز جهودهم على حماية التعليم في فترات النزاع وبناء السلام. ويلفت هذا اليوم الانتباه إلى محنة أكثر من 75 مليون طفل تتراوح أعمارهم بين 3 أعوام و18 عاماً يعيشون في 35 دولة متأثرة بالأزمات وبحاجة إلى دعم تعليمي عاجل.

وفي شهر مارس من عام 2021، وقعت دولة قطر والأمم المتحدة اتفاقيتين لافتتاح مكتبين جديدين تابعين للمنظمة في الدوحة، حيث سيتم إنشاء مكتب تابع لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي لدعم جهود وسبل تحقيق أهداف التنمية المستدامة عالمياً، فيما سيدعم مكتب الأمم المتحدة لتنسيق الشؤون الإنسانية مهمة الأمم المتحدة المتمثلة في تنسيق العمليات الإنسانية العالمية من خلال الشراكات مع الجهات الوطنية والدولية.

وفد دولة قطر المشارك في أعمال الدورة الخامسة والسبعين للجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة

شارك وفد رفيع المستوى برئاسة حضرة صاحب السمو الشيخ تميم بن حمد آل ثاني أمير البلاد المفدى في الدورة الخامسة والسبعين للجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة التي انعقدت بصورة افتراضية في نيويورك.

الرؤية

تلتزم دولة قطر، وتماشياً مع سياستها الخارجية، بمبادئ القانون الدولي وميثاق الأمم المتحدة، والمساهمة في تحقيق الأمن والاستقرار.

الرسالة

انسجاماً مع رؤية دولة قطر 2030 وركائزها الأساسية، وانطلاقاً من جهود دولة قطر كعنصر فعال في محيطها الإقليمي والدولي على صعيد التنمية والتعاون، تؤمن دولة قطر بأن فض النزاعات لا يكون إلا من خلال الحوار والسبل السلمية.

إننا نفخر بالانفتاح والنهج الشمولي الذي نتبعه في دولة قطر، ونسعى لأن نكون نموذجاً يُحتذى به للتغيير في المنطقة، مدفوعين برؤية جريئة وإيجابية للمستقبل بما يتماشى تماماً مع القيم التي تتبناها منظمة الأمم المتحدة. كما تشمل جهود دولة قطر تعزيز احترام سيادة الدول وحسن الجوار كسبل لإرساء الاستقرار والتنمية والعدالة الاجتماعية في المجتمعات وتعزيزها.

تؤمن دولة قطر بأنه يمكن لنا من خلال الشراكات الموثوقة التي تدعمها الأطر الدولية، أن نساهم في ترسيخ الأمن والاستقرار في المنطقة العربية والمناطق المجاورة لها .

خطاب حضرة صاحب السمو الشيخ تميم بن حمد آل ثاني، أمير دولة قطر في الدورة 75 لاجتماع الجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة