Shura Council

Qatar’s Shura Council was established in 1972, following the passing of the Amended Provisional Basic Law of Rule in the State of Qatar on 19 April 1972, to assist His Highness the Amir and the Council of Ministers in the performance of their duties.

The Shura Council originally had 20 appointed members, a composition which has been subsequently amended on several occasions. The current Council sits 45 members.

In November 2020, His Highness the Amir announced that Shura Council elections would be taking place for the first time in 2021. This is part of Qatar’s ambition to develop its legislative process with wider citizen participation, reflecting the values of the Qatari Constitution and Qatar National Vision 2030.

The Council assumes the following functions in accordance with the Constitution:

  • Legislative authority.
  • Approving the general budget of the government.
  • Exercising control over the executive authority, as specified in the Constitution.
  • The Shura Council shall have the right to forward proposals relative to public matters to the government. If the government is unable to comply with such aspirations, it must give its reasons to the Council. The Council may comment only once on the government’s statement.

The term of office of the Shura Council shall be four calendar years commencing from the date of the first meeting.

The Shura Council represents Qatar in numerous parliamentary associations and international organisations. This includes the Inter-Parliamentary Union, the Arab Inter-Parliamentary Union, the Arab Parliament, the Parliamentary Union of the OIC Member States, the Asian Parliamentary Assembly, and the Association of Senates, Shura & Equivalent Councils in Africa & the Arab World.

Shura Council Formation

The Shura Council comprises a total of 45 members, 30 of whom are directly elected via secret general ballot, whilst the remaining 15 are appointed by HH the Amir. Shura Council membership shall end in the event of death, total disability, expiration of membership term, resignation, termination of membership, or dissolution of the Shura Council.

Electoral districts

In accordance with Amiri Decree No. 37 of 2021, the country will be divided into 30 electoral districts, each of which will elect one representative.

Candidate nominations

Election Day

His Highness the Amir Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani issued Decree No. 40 of 2021 setting 2 October 2021 as the date for electing members of the Shura Council.

The voting process will begin on Saturday, 2 October 2021. Polling stations will open their doors at 8:00 am and will continue working until 6:00 pm.

The names of elected members of the Shura Council will be announced on the evening of the election day (2 October 2021).

Election Campaigns

Election campaigning will begin following the announcement of the final list of candidates on Wednesday, 15 September 2021, and must end 24 hours prior to the start of the voting process on Friday, 1 October 2021.

The maximum expenditure of each candidate during their electoral campaign must not exceed two million Qatari riyals.

During the campaign, candidates must respect the constitution and the freedom of others to express their opinion. They must maintain national unity and community safety, and must not offend any other candidate. Candidates cannot incite tribal or sectarian strife among citizens and society in any way.

Timeline for the 2021 Shura Council elections

Shura Council Elections Supervisory Committee

You can visit the Shura Council Elections Supervisory Committee website for more information about the Shura Council elections.