Government Communications Office statement regarding the extended temporary travel restrictions from designated countries as a precautionary measure to contain the spread of Coronavirus (COVID-19)

14 March 2020

As part of the precautionary measures taken by the State of Qatar to limit the spread of Coronavirus (COVID-19), and as an extension to previous decisions on suspending travel from designated countries, it has been decided to suspend visa on arrival from a number of European countries, effective 15 March and until further notice.

The decision includes suspending entry for citizens of Italy, France, Germany and Spain, as well as all others traveling from these countries. Individuals intending to travel from these four countries who are in possession of a Qatar residence permit are excluded from this decision, provided that they stay in a quarantine facility for 14 days as per the local procedures.

It has also been decided to temporarily suspend entry to the State of Qatar from the Republic of Sudan. This restriction includes those who are in possession of visa on arrival or a Qatar residence permit.

The State of Qatar continues to urge citizens and residents to avoid all but essential travel at this time.

These precautionary measures may be subject to further updates based on the latest guidance of the national health authorities and international organisations regarding the spread of COVID-19, in order to ensure the safety of all residents of the State of Qatar.