Tourism

The importance of tourism in Qatar

Tourism has been identified by the country’s leadership as one of five priority sectors integral to diversifying Qatar’s economy and to increasing private sector participation.

Qatar offers experiences that combine old and new, the traditional with the modern. Thanks to Qatar’s strategic location at the crossroads of East and West, the country is on average 6-7 hours away from key international travel hubs.

80% of the world’s population is within a 6-hour flight from Qatar and more than two-thirds can enter Qatar visa-free.

Qatar National Tourism Sector Strategy 2030

On World Tourism Day 2017, HE Sheikh Abdullah bin Nasser bin Khalifa Al Thani, the former Prime Minister and Minister of Interior, launched the Next Chapter of the Qatar National Tourism Sector Strategy, a five-year plan that places an enhanced end-to-end visitor experience at the heart of tourism development.

 

The Next Chapter’s targets are being achieved through:

  • Visa facilitation policies and a message of welcome to the world.
  • Diversified tourism offerings across 6 areas: coastal and desert tourism, cultural tourism, business events, sports tourism, urban and family entertainment, and cruise tourism.
  • Balancing supply and demand in the hospitality sector and diversifying tourist accommodation options.
  • Ensuring adequate professional capabilities across the sector.
  • Streamlining regulation processes to encourage investment.

Investing in Qatar’s tourism sector

Qatar sees the involvement of international investors as critical to the development of a tourism industry that provides diverse and exceptional experiences. Investors that set up companies in Qatar will have a rare competitive edge, being among the first to start up in a fast-growing market.

To facilitate and incentivise foreign investments, there is a dedicated Investment Promotions Unit which works to liaise between investors, local and international talent, as well as government authorities. In addition, there is a new, electronic licensing system that fast-tracks the licensing process of tourism businesses. This system will soon be integrated in the broader Single Window initiative, which ties together all government services required by an investor in a one-stop-shop.

5 reasons Qatar’s tourism sector is attracting investors 

  1. Stable investment environment
  2. Investment Promotions Unit at the Qatar National Tourism Council to facilitate connections and procedures
  3. New e-licensing system fast-tracks process for tourism businesses
  4. New incentives and forms of facilitation for foreign business owners
  5. Competitive edge: be among the first to start up on a growing market.

The visitor experience

Connectivity

Qatar Airways, the award-winning national carrier, travels to more than 150 destinations worldwide, including most major cities throughout the Middle East, Europe, Africa, Asia, Australasia & North and South America.

In addition to its role as Qatar Airways’ home base, Hamad International Airport serves more than 50 other international airlines.

Ease of access

New visa policies have resulted in Qatar becoming the most open country in the region, and the 8th most open in the world according to visa openness rankings released by the UN World Tourism Organization (UNWTO) in August 2018.

This high ranking reflects a string of visa facilitation measures introduced by Qatar, including allowing nationals of 88 countries to enter Qatar visa-free and free of charge.

A diverse tourism offering

Cruise tourism

Cruise tourism brings over 100 thousand visitors a year to Qatar, enabling them to enjoy the many landmarks that are mere minutes from Doha Port, including Souq Waqif, the Museum of Islamic Art, the Doha Corniche and the National Museum of Qatar. The peak season runs from October to May, allowing visitors to enjoy the country’s pleasant winter weather during that time.

Thanks to Qatar’s cruise visitor visas and streamlined disembarkation process, cruise visitors are able to immediately begin exploring the best the country has to offer as soon as their ship arrives.

A 2 billion QAR ($547 million) Doha Port redevelopment project is set to transform the port into a permanent cruise terminal and tourist attraction at the heart of the capital city. With the project’s completion, and the associated capacity increase which will allow the port to receive two mega-ships at once, Qatar is expected to attract 500,000 cruise tourists by 2026.

Sports tourism

Qatar hosts roughly 80 sporting events and world-class competitions across a multitude of sporting disciplines annually.

The country is making sports history as the first Middle Eastern country to earn the rights to host the World Championships in Athletics (2019), World Corporate Games (2019), FIFA World Cup (2022) and the FINA World Swimming Championships (2023).

Business events

The Qatari government’s dedication to supporting scientific research – particularly biomedical, computing and environmental research – has given rise to hubs of knowledge across the country, including Education City and the Qatar Science and Technology Park. Qatar’s business events sector also enjoys exhibition capacity of 70,000 square metres.

Destination weddings

The availability of magnificent ballrooms and vistas in Qatar places it as an emerging wedding destination, particularly for couples who have an appetite for modern luxury and entertainment and who are looking to celebrate their marriage against the backdrop of beautiful beaches.

Landmarks

Katara Cultural Village

Open to the public since 2010, Katara is an innovative interpretation of the region’s architectural heritage which includes impressive theatres, galleries and performance venues that stage a regular programme of concerts, shows and exhibitions. The newly opened Katara Plaza includes high-end retail shops, food outlets, residential and hospitality offerings, as well as the renown Galleries Lafayette, an upmarket French department store.

Souq Waqif

Founded over a century ago, Souq Waqif provides an authentic taste of traditional commerce, architecture and culture. In 2008, the Souq went through a restoration period designed to preserve its architectural history and maintain its original elements, including spices and seasonal delicacies as well as perfumes, ornate jewellery, clothing and handicrafts.

National Museum of Qatar

Designed to be both immersive and experiential, the newly opened museum provides visitors with a rich environment to explore. Segmented in three chapters — ‘Beginnings’, ‘Life in Qatar’, and ‘The Modern History of Qatar’, each theme is presented across eleven highly individual galleries.

Museum of Islamic Art

Opened in 2008, the Museum of Islamic Art treats visitors to a magnificent and imaginative experience, where the finest arts and artefacts from across the Islamic world spanning 14 centuries are on display.

Al Zubarah Fort

A UNESCO-recognised heritage site since 2013, Al Zubarah Fort was originally built in 1938 and includes three major features, the largest of which are the archaeological remains of the town, dating back to the 1760s.

Al Zubarah Fort is one of a long line of prosperous trading towns around the coast in what is present day Qatar.

Sealine Beach Resort

Located in Mesaieed, Sealine Beach Resort offers a unique mix of relaxation and adventure through water sports, desert safaris, camel and horse riding, as well as beach football and basketball. It is close to Khor Al Adaid – Qatar’s inland sea and one of the few places in the world where sand dunes meet the sea. The resort was restored in 2015 by Katara Hospitality, and now offers a more modern twist on a traditional Qatari resort.

السياحة

السياحة في قطر 

تضع القيادة القطرية قطاع السياحة كأحد القطاعات الخمسة ذات الأولوية والتي يمكن من خلالها بناء اقتصاد أكثر تنوعاً وتعزيز مساهمة القطاع الخاص فيه.

وتمنح قطر زوارها فرصة الاستمتاع بمجموعة من التجارب التي يمتزج فيها عبق الماضي بالحاضر والمستقبل, وتتمتع  بموقع استراتيجي حيوي يجعلها في ملتقى الطرق بين الشرق والغرب، ويتراوح عدد ساعات الطيران التي تفصلها عن العديد من عواصم العالم الرئيسية ما بين 6 إلى 7 ساعات.

ويستطيع 80% من سكان العالم الوصول إلى دولة قطر بعد رحلة طيران لا تزيد على 6 ساعات، كما يحق لأكثر من ثلثي سكان العالم الدخول إلى الأراضي القطرية دون تأشيرة.

الاستراتيجية الوطنية لقطاع السياحة القطري 2030

خلال الاحتفالية الخاصة بيوم السياحة العالمي 2017، أعلن معالي الشيخ عبد الله بن ناصر بن خليفة آل ثاني رئيس مجلس الوزراء ووزير الداخلية السابق، إطلاق المرحلة القادمة من الاستراتيجية الوطنية للسياحة في دولة قطر، وهي خطة خمسية طموحة تُولي أهمية كبرى لتحسين التجربة السياحية للزوار من بدايتها وحتى نهايتها.

 يتم تحقيق أهداف المرحلة القادمة من خلال الآتي:

  • تبسيط وتسهيل سياسات التأشيرات وإرسال رسالة مفادها أن قطر ترحب بالعالم.
  • تقديم عروض سياحية متنوعة في 6 مجالات: السياحة البحرية والسياحة الصحراوية والسياحة الثقافية وسياحة المعارض والمؤتمرات والسياحية الرياضية وسياحة الترفيه العائلي.
  • تحقيق التوازن بين العرض والطلب في قطاع الضيافة، وتنويع خيارات الإقامة السياحية.
  • إمداد القطاع السياحي بالكفاءات والكوادر الكافية واللازمة.
  • تشجيع الاستثمار عبر تبسيط الإجراءات.

الاستثمار السياحي في قطر

تنظر دولة قطر إلى جذب الاستثمارات الأجنبية باعتبارها ركيزة أساسية للنهوض بصناعة السياحة وتطويرها على النحو الذي يضمن تقديم أفضل التجارب السياحية الفريدة لزوار دولة قطر. ويحظى المستثمرون الذين يقررون القدوم إلى دولة قطر وإنشاء شركاتهم فيها بميزة تنافسية فريدة، وذلك لأنهم سوف يكونون في طليعة الشركات التي تدخل سوقاً سريعة النمو.

وتشجيعاً للاستثمارات الأجنبية في هذا المجال، فقد تم إنشاء قسم تشجيع الاستثمار السياحي في الهيئة العامة للسياحة، والذي يعمل كهمزة وصل وتنسيق بين المستثمرين المحتملين والشركات المحلية والدولية والجهات الحكومية المعنية في القطاع السياحي. وبالإضافة إلى ذلك، تم إطلاق نظام جديد للترخيص الإلكتروني بما يضمن إصدار التراخيص السياحية اللازمة وتجديدها في أسرع وقت ممكن. وعمَّا قريب، سوف يتم دمج هذا النظام ضمن مبادرة “النافذة الواحدة”، التي تقدم جميع الخدمات الحكومية التي يحتاجها المستثمر في مكان واحد.

5 أسباب تجعل القطاع السياحي في قطر جذاباً للمستثمرين

  1. بيئة استثمارية مستقرة.
  2. تسهيل الإجراءات عن طريق قسم تشجيع الاستثمار السياحي في الهيئة العامة للسياحة.
  3. نظام ترخيص إلكتروني جديد يضمن تسريع المعاملات السياحية.
  4. حوافز جديدة للاستثمار وتسهيلات خاصة للاستثمارات الأجنبية.
  5. الميزة التنافسية التي توفرها دولة قطر لهؤلاء المستثمرين الذين يبدأون أعمالهم في سوق واعدة وسريعة النمو.

تعزيز التجربة السياحية للزوار

سهولة الوصول

تُسيِّر الخطوط الجوية القطرية، وهي الناقلة الوطنية لدولة قطر الحائزة على أرفع الجوائز في عالم الطيران، رحلاتها لأكثر من 150 وجهة حول العالم، والتي تضم أهم عواصم العالم في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وأوروبا وإفريقيا وآسيا وأستراليا وأمريكا الشمالية والجنوبية.

ويقدم مطار حمد الدولي خدماته لأكثر من 50 شركة طيران عالمية، بالإضافة إلى كونه يمثل نقطة انطلاق للخطوط الجوية القطرية.

سهولة الدخول

أصبحت دولة قطر الوجهة الأكثر انفتاحاً في المنطقة، كما حلَّت في المرتبة الثامنة عالمياً في قائمة الدول الأكثر انفتاحاً، وذلك وفقاً للمؤشرات الصادرة مؤخراً عن منظمة السياحة العالمية التابعة للأمم المتحدة، في أغسطس 2018.

وقد تحقق هذا التقدم بفضل سلسلة التسهيلات التي اعتمدتها دولة قطر فيما يخص سياسة التأشيرات، والتي تمثلت في إعفاء مواطني 88 دولة من تأشيرة الدخول ورسومها.

عروض سياحية متنوعة

قطاع السياحة البحرية

يجذب قطاع السياحة البحرية أكثر من 100,000 زائر سنوياً لدولة قطر، فقد أصبح بإمكان هؤلاء الزوار البدء في استكشاف أجمل أماكن الجذب السياحي في قطر فور وصول بواخرهم. ويتميز الموقع الحيوي لميناء الدوحة بأنه لا تفصله سوى مسافة قصيرة عن معظم المزارات السياحية في المدينة، بما فيها سوق واقف ومتحف الفن الإسلامي وكورنيش الدوحة ومتحف قطر الوطني. وينطلق موسم السياحة البحرية في قطر بداية من شهر أكتوبر وحتى مايو، حيث يجتذب الزوار الراغبين في الاستمتاع بالطقس الشتوي البديع الذي تتميز به قطر وبشمسها الدافئة خلال هذا الفصل.

وبفضل الإجراءات التي اُتخذت لتسهيل نزول ركاب البواخر السياحية وإصدار تأشيرات الدخول، فقد أصبح بإمكان الزوار البدء في استكشاف أجمل الأماكن السياحية في قطر فور وصول بواخرهم.

ومن المتوقع أن يتحول ميناء الدوحة، بعد عملية التطوير التي يخضع لها حالياً والتي تبلغ قيمتها 2 مليار ريال قطري (أو ما يعادل 547 مليون دولار أمريكي)، إلى مرفأ دائم لاستقبال البواخر السياحية، وأن يصبح أحد المعالم السياحية في مدينة الدوحة. ومع اكتمال عملية التطوير وزيادة الطاقة الاستيعابية للمرفأ بما يسمح باستقبال باخرتين عملاقتين في وقت واحد، يتوقع أن تجذب دولة قطر 500,000 ألف زائر على متن البواخر السياحية بحلول عام 2026.

السياحة الرياضية

تستضيف دولة قطر 80 فعالية رياضية وبطولة عالمية سنوياً في العديد من المجالات الرياضية.

وقد استطاعت البلاد أن تسطر اسمها في سجلات التاريخ الرياضي باعتبارها أول دولة في الشرق الأوسط تحظى بشرف استضافة بطولة العالم لألعاب القوى (2019)، وبطولة كأس العالم لكرة القدم (2022)، وكذلك بطولات العالم للسباحة “فينا” (2023).

المعارض والمؤتمرات الخاصة بقطاع الأعمال

ساهم التزام القيادة القطرية بدعم البحث العلمي، خاصة في مجالات الطب الحيوي والبرمجيات الحاسوبية والبيئة، في تأسيس مراكز بحثية رائدة في سائر أنحاء البلاد، تنضوي تحت مظلة المدينة التعليمية وواحة قطر للعلوم والتكنولوجيا. كما يتمتع قطاع المعارض والمؤتمرات الخاصة بقطاع الأعمال في دولة قطر بمساحة عرض تصل إلى 70,000 متر مربع.

وجهة لحفلات الزفاف

تجعل القاعات والمشاهد الخلابة في دولة قطر من البلاد وجهة ناشئة لحفلات الزفاف، خاصة للأزواج  الذين يفضلون الاحتفال وسط اجواء عصرية فخمة ممزوجة بجو من  المتعة على الشواطئ الساحرة.

المعالم الرئيسية

الحي الثقافي كتارا

تم افتتاح الحي الثقافي كتارا في عام 2010، وهي تجسيد مبتكر للإرث المعماري في المنطقة. وتحفل مسارح القرية ومعارضها وأماكن إقامة العروض الفنية فيها ببرامج متنوعة تقام طوال العام، تشمل الحفلات الموسيقية والعروض الفنية والمعارض. أما كتارا بلازا، الذي تم افتتاحه مؤخراً، فيضم في رحابه متاجر فاخرة ومطاعم متنوعة وخيارات مميزة للضيافة والإقامة، فضلاً عن المتجر الفرنسي المتميز غاليري لافاييت.

سوق واقف

يقدم سوق واقف، الذي يمتد تاريخه عبر أكثر من قرن من الزمن، لمرتاديه تجربة تسوق أصيلة يستمتعون خلالها بأجواء التجارة العربية اضافه الى الاطلاع على الهندسة المعمارية المحلية. وقد شهد سوق واقف في عام 2008 فترة ترميم هدفت إلى الحفاظ على طرازه المعماري التقليدي وحماية متاجره الغنية والمتنوعة، والتي تتشهر بالبهارات والمأكولات الموسمية والعطور والمجوهرات والملابس، فضلا عن المشغولات التقليدية ومجموعة واسعة من الهدايا التذكارية.

متحف قطر الوطني

تم تصميم متحف قطر الوطني، الأيقونة المعمارية التي تم افتتاحها مؤخراً، ليكون تجربة متميزة لزواره. وتم تقسيم المتحف إلى ثلاثة أقسام هي: البدايات، والحياة في قطر، وبناء الأمة. وتعرض محتويات هذه الأقسام في 11 قاعة عرض مستقلة.

متحف الفن الإسلامي

يقدم متحف الفن الإسلامي، الذي تمّ افتتاحه عام 2008، لزواره تجربة بديعة ورائعة، حيث يمكنهم مشاهدة أروع الأعمال والتحف الفنية من مختلف أنحاء العالم الإسلامي الممتدة على مدار 14 قرناً من الزمن.

قلعة الزبارة

تم ادراج قلعة الزبارة، التي شُيِّدت عام 1938، ضمن قائمة التراث العالمي لمنظمة اليونسكو، ويتألف الموقع المُدْرَج من ثلاثة أجزاء رئيسية أكبرها البقايا الأثرية للمدينة التي يعود تاريخها إلى 1760.

وتعتبر الزبارة واحدة ضمن سلسلة طويلة من المدن التجارية العريقة الواقعة على ساحل دولة قطر.

منتجع شاطئ سيلين

يقع منتجع شاطئ سيلين في منطقة مسيعيد، ويقدم لزواره تجربة متفردة تجمع بين الاسترخاء والمغامرة من خلال الرياضات المائية ورحلات السفاري الصحراوية وركوب الخيل والجمال، بالإضافة إلى ممارسة كرة اليد وكرة السلة على الشاطئ. ويقع المنتجع بالقرب من شاطئ خور العديد، الذي يعتبر أحد الأماكن القليلة في العالم التي تلتقي فيها الكثبان الرملية بالبحر. وقد قامت كتارا للضيافة بإعادة ترميم المنتجع في عام 2015، ليقدم اليوم تجربة أكثر عصرية في رحاب منتجع قطري تقليدي.