Environment and Sustainability

Protecting the environment and supporting sustainable development are at the forefront of Qatar’s priorities. As one of the first countries to ratify the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) in 1996, Qatar has a long-standing commitment to addressing global environmental challenges. Qatar is an active partner in the international community’s campaign to confront the climate crisis.

“The State of Qatar has placed climate change at the forefront of its priorities, and it continues to take the necessary measures to develop climate change-related technologies and clean energy”.
His Highness Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani, September 2021

International cooperation for a greener future

Qatar signed the Kyoto Protocol in 2005, an agreement which marked an important milestone in which the international community agreed for the first time on binding targets and measures for combating climate change.

In 2012, more than 20,000 delegates and key members from governments, UN Organizations and civil society gathered in Doha for the Eighteenth Session of the Conference of States Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change.

Qatar spared no effort to ensure the success of negotiations of the 2015 Paris Climate Agreement and is a proud signatory of the seminal treaty.

Additionally, Qatar supports global efforts to promote sustainability through projects assisting those most affected by climate change.

During the Climate Action Summit in September 2019, His Highness Sheikh Tamim bin Hamad Al Thani, announced the State of Qatar’s contribution of $100 million to support small island developing states and least developed countries to address climate change and environmental challenges.

Ambitious sustainability goals

Qatar’s National Environment and Climate Change Strategy (QNE) provides a robust policy framework to safeguard Qatar’s environment for future generations.

Qatar, like its Gulf neighbours, is highly vulnerable to the adverse effects of climate change.

The establishment of the Ministry of Environment and Climate Change was in accordance with the decree issued by His Highness Sheikh Tamim Bin Hamad Al Thani, the Amir of the State of Qatar, under law No. 57 of 2021. The ministry’s primary mission is to safeguard environmental quality and preserve its resources for both current and future generations, achieved through an efficient regulatory framework.

“The newly established Ministry of Environment and Climate Change will have a fundamental role in the success of sustainable development projects, achieving the State’s goals in preserving the environment, promoting green growth and limiting the effects of climate change”.
HE Sheikh Dr Faleh bin Nasser bin Ahmed Al Thani, Minister of Environment and Climate Change, February 2022

In September 2021, Qatar’s Council of Ministers approved the National Climate Change Plan, a strategic framework reflecting Qatar’s long-term sustainability ambitions and the urgent need to respond effectively to the climate crisis.

An integral part of the Qatar National Vision 2030 and in line with the UN Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), the plan sets out Qatar’s commitment to tackle climate change by diversifying the economy, building capabilities, and optimising the use of natural resources. It establishes national climate targets to enhance climate resilience through more than 35 measures and over 300 adaptation initiatives focused on mitigation.

Commitment to environmental research

Research plays a crucial role in assessing potential environmental risks and identifying solutions.

Qatar’s effective and sophisticated environmental institutions carry out relevant research while building and strengthening public awareness about ecological protection as well as encouraging the use of green technologies. The Government of Qatar provides full support to emerging companies and research hubs that ensure constant innovation and development in areas of environmental preservation, sustainability and technology.

The Qatar Science and Technology Park (QSTP) is a leading hub of applied research, technology innovation, incubation and entrepreneurship. Several of its projects aim to deliver cleaner burning and more efficient fuels, while identifying new ways of producing energy.

The Qatar Environment and Energy Research Institute (QEERI) conducts and coordinates long-term and multidisciplinary research that addresses critical national priorities related to water security, energy and environment.

Sustainable cities

Qatar is home to Lusail City and Msheireb Downtown, both smart and sustainable cities, that were designed to combine planet friendly technology with optimised urban planning. These cities both meet the highest environmental standards and promote environmental stewardship and research.

Most notably, Msheireb Downtown is the world’s first sustainable downtown regeneration project.

Designed to limit the need for personal car use, Msherieb Downtown is mitigating carbon emissions and congested traffic grids. The district was designed to sustainably conserve water using new technologies and practices that are reducing water usage by up to 30% as well as increase energy efficiency through more than 5,200 photovoltaic (PV) solar panels that provide both electricity and hot water.

Lusail City is equipped with a state-of-the-art District Cooling System, which is amongst the biggest in the world and has been designed to save 65 million tons of CO² annually. The city also hosts a light rail train, a park and ride strategy, and a cycle and pedestrian ways system that provide reliable and eco-friendly transportation solutions.

Throughout Qatar, the Qatar Green Building Council conducts and deploys environmentally sustainable practices for the design and development of sustainable infrastructure.

Green transport

Qatar has made significant investments in green public transportation and infrastructure projects to provide an integrated, world-class, multimodal transportation system that offers safe, reliable and eco-friendly transport services.

The Doha Metro is the backbone of Qatar’s vision for an integrated public transport system and aims to revolutionise the way people move around Doha. The metro serves the capital’s locations quickly, conveniently and safely – making it a far more sustainable option to the private car, and all metro stations are designed to operate in such a way to reduce the impact on the environment particularly in terms of energy and water consumption.

Hamad Port provides the State with a modern, resilient sea-freight connection hub that is guided by internationally accepted sustainability criteria, ensuring that materials selection, water consumption and energy use are aligned to minimise its carbon footprint.

Qatar Airways is committed to working with the aviation industry towards realising environmental goals and is certified under the IATA’s Environmental Assessment programme which provides a framework for delivering continual improvement of environmental performance across business functions.

A source for clean energy

Qatar is a leading exporter of one of the cleanest fuels in the world, helping countries meet their energy needs while reducing carbon emissions from coal.

As a global energy producer, Qatar Energy launched a new Sustainability Strategy in January 2021 that illustrates its commitment to people and planet. The strategy establishes a number of targets in alignment with the goals of the Paris Agreement and sets in motion a plan to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 25% by 2030.

Qatar’s first large-scale solar power plant was announced in January 2020 and will provide sustainable, affordable and clean energy to Qatari citizens and businesses.

Additionally, Qatar is conducting long-term research to address environmental priorities in the energy sector, from reducing methane to working with strategic partners to develop and integrate carbon capture and storage technologies across operations.

Delivering a sustainable FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™

Qatar’s commitment to sustainability is evident in its preparation for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™, where sustainability was integrated into the tournament’s design and delivery, focusing on key areas like infrastructure, environment, social development, and entrepreneurship. Learn more about Qatar’s efforts to ensure a lasting legacy here.

Digital Transformation

As part of its long-term strategy to drive economic diversification and digital transformation, Qatar hosted the second edition of Smart City Expo Doha 2022, which presented some of the best smart solutions and applications to build a better future centred on sustainability.

The panels, which brought experts from around the world, discussed the potential role of artificial intelligence, blockchain and cloud computing in the transformation of urban management. They also highlighted the ironic role of the COVID-19 pandemic in fast-tracking the development of digital tools and smart applications to overcome the pressing challenges brought about by the pandemic itself.

The event attracted 2,500 visitors, who attended three keynote sessions and listened to over 70 speakers from various backgrounds and expertise in digital transformation and smart cities. Some 20 countries as well as 40 exhibitors and sponsors were featured in the event organised by the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology (MCIT) in partnership with Tasmu Smart Qatar.

In 2019, the first edition of Smart City Expo Doha 2019, which focused on smart technology and start-ups, was organised by the Ministry of Transport and Communications (MoTC) in partnership with Fira Barcelona. The event featured more than 90 speakers, 100 start-ups, 300 exhibitors and 300 entrepreneurs and innovators, who shared ideas about the most recent smart solutions to challenges facing today’s modern cities.

البيئة والاستدامة

لطالما وضعت دولة قطر مسألة حماية البيئة ودعم التنمية المستدامة في طليعة أولوياتها وأثبتت التزامها الدائم بمواجهة التحديات البيئية العالمية في أكثر من مناسبة، لا سيما حين أصبحت من أوائل الدول التي صادقت على اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ عام 1996. وتعد دولة قطر شريكاً فاعلاً في المجتمع الدولي في مواجهة الأزمة المناخية.

يشكل تغير المناخ أولوية وطنية لدولة قطر، حيث وضعنا طموحات جريئة وواقعية للحد من انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري في جميع القطاعات. ونحن ملتزمون بتحقيق أهدافنا وإن كانت طموحة.

حضرة صاحب السمو أمير البلاد المفدى في الكلمة التي ألقاها خلال مؤتمر الأمم المتحدة بشأن تغير المناخ في غلاسكو  عام 2021.

التعاون الدولي من أجل مستقبل أكثر مراعاة للبيئة

شهد عام 2005 توقيع دولة قطر على بروتوكول كيوتو الذي شكل إنجازاً مرحلياً مهماً تمثل في اتفاق المجتمع الدولي للمرة الأولى على أهداف وإجراءات ملزمة لمكافحة تغير المناخ.

في عام 2012، التقى أكثر من 20,000 مندوب ومسؤول رفيع المستوى من الحكومات والمنظمات التابعة للأمم المتحدة والمجتمع المدني في الدوحة للمشاركة في الدورة الـثامنة عشرة لمؤتمر الدول الأطراف في اتفاقية الأمم المتحدة الإطارية بشأن تغير المناخ.

لم تدخر دولة قطر جهداً لضمان نجاح المفاوضات التي أفضت إلى إقرار اتفاق باريس للمناخ عام 2015، وكانت من أول الموقعين على هذه الاتفاقية ذات الأهمية البالغة.

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تدعم دولة قطر الجهود الدولية لتعزيز الاستدامة من خلال المشاريع التي تقدم المساعدة للجهات الأكثر تضرراً من تغير المناخ.

وخلال قمة العمل من أجل المناخ في شهر سبتمبر 2019، أعلن حضرة صاحب السمو الشيخ تميم بن حمد آل ثاني أمير البلاد المفدى عن مساهمة دولة قطر بمبلغ 100 مليون دولار أمريكي لدعم الدول الجزرية الصغيرة النامية والدول الأقل نمواً للتعامل مع تغير المناخ والتحديات البيئية.

أهداف طموحة لتعزيز الاستدامة

تشكل استراتيجية قطر الوطنية للبيئة والتغير المناخي ركيزة أساسيةً للسياسات العامة من أجل المحافظة على البيئة لصالح الأجيال الحالية والقادمة.

حماية البيئة الفريدة لدولة قطر

على غرار جيرانها في منطقة الخليج، تعتبر دولة قطر دولة شديدة التأثر بالآثار السلبية لتغير المناخ.

ينصب تركيز وزارة البيئة والتغير المناخي بشكل حصري على معالجة القضايا ذات الأهمية البيئية والحرص على اعتماد ممارسات مستدامة ومراعية للمناخ في القطاعات كافة والإشراف على تنفيذ الاستراتيجية الوطنية للبيئة والتغير المناخي على الوجه الأمثل.

أنشئت وزارة البيئة والتغير المناخي بموجب المرسوم الصادر عن حضرة صاحب السمو الشيخ تميم بن حمد آل ثاني، أمير البلاد المفدى، رقم 57 لسنة 2021. وتتمثل مهمتها الأساسية في حماية البيئة وجودتها وصون مواردها للأجيال الحالية والمستقبلية، وذلك من خلال إطار تنظيمي فعال.

سيكون لوزارة البيئة والتغير المناخي المنشأة حديثاً دورٌ أساسي في نجاح مشاريع التنمية المستدامة، وتحقيق أهداف الدولة في الحفاظ على البيئة وتعزيز النمو الأخضر والحد من الآثار السلبية لتغير المناخ.

سعادة الشيخ الدكتور فالح بن ناصر بن أحمد بن علي آل ثاني، وزير البيئة والتغير المناخي، فبراير 2022.

في شهر سبتمبر 2021، وافق مجلس الوزراء القطري على الخطة الوطنية للتغير المناخي، وهي إطار استراتيجي يعكس طموحات الدولة على المدى الطويل في مجال الاستدامة والحاجة الملحة للاستجابة بفعالية للأزمة المناخية.

تتماشى الخطة مع أهداف الأمم المتحدة للتنمية المستدامة، وتشكل جزءاً لا يتجزأ من رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030، وترسم معالم التزام دولة قطر بمواجهة التغير المناخي من خلال تنويع الاقتصاد، وبناء القدرات، وتحقيق الاستخدام الأمثل للموارد الطبيعية. كما تحدد الخطة الأهداف المناخية الوطنية لتعزيز القدرة على مواجهة آثار تغير المناخ من خلال أكثر من 35 إجراءً مختلفاً وأكثر من 300 مبادرة تكيف تركز على التخفيف من الآثار.

مركز للأبحاث البيئية

تؤدي البحوث دوراً جوهرياً في تقييم المخاطر البيئية المحتملة وتحديد الحلول الممكنة.

تجري المؤسسات البيئية الفعالة والمتمرسة في دولة قطر البحوث ذات الصلة، مع نشر الوعي العام وتعزيزه حول حماية البيئة وكذلك تشجيع استخدام التكنولوجيا الخضراء. من هنا، تقدم حكومة دولة قطر دعمها الكامل للشركات الناشئة ومراكز الأبحاث والمنظمات التي تواظب على الابتكار والتطوير في مجالات الحفاظ على البيئة والاستدامة والتكنولوجيا.

تعتبر واحة قطر للعلوم والتكنولوجيا مركزاً رائداً للعلوم التطبيقية، والابتكارات التكنولوجية، واحتضان المشاريع، وريادة الأعمال. ويهدف عدد من مشاريعها إلى تطوير وقود أكثر نظافة وكفاءة، مع التركيز في الوقت ذاته على اكتشاف سبل جديدة لإنتاج الطاقة.

ويعمل معهد قطر لبحوث البيئة والطاقة على إجراء وتنسيق بحوث طويلة المدى في مختلف التخصصات تلبي الأولويات الوطنية الملحة فيما يتعلق بالأمن المائي والطاقة والبيئة.

المدن المستدامة

تحتضن دولة قطر مدينتي لوسيل ومشيرب قلب الدوحة، وهما مدينتان ذكيتان ومستدامتان صممتا لتجمعا بين التكنولوجيا الصديقة للبيئة والتخطيط العمراني المحسن. تستوفي المدينتان أعلى المعايير البيئية، وتعززان الإشراف والأبحاث البيئية.

تجدر الإشارة إلى أن مشيرب قلب الدوحة هي أول مشروع مستدام لتطوير وسط مدينة على مستوى العالم.

صممت مشيرب قلب الدوحة بشكل يحد من الحاجة إلى استخدام السيارات الخاصة، ما يساهم في تخفيض انبعاثات الكربون وتخفيف الازدحام المروري. وصممت المنطقة للحفاظ على المياه بصورة مستدامة من خلال استخدام تقنيات وممارسات حديثة تخفض استهلاك المياه بنسبة تصل إلى 30%، ولتعزيز كفاءة الطاقة من خلال أكثر من 5,200 لوح للطاقة الشمسية تؤمن الطاقة الكهربائية والمياه الساخنة.

كما جُهزت مدينة لوسيل بنظام فائق التطور لتبريد المناطق يعد من الأكبر حجماً في العالم، وقد صمم ليوفر 65 مليون طناً من ثاني أكسيد الكربون سنوياً. تمتاز المدينة أيضاً بشبكة القطار الخفيف، واستراتيجية ركن السيارات والركوب، بالإضافة إلى طرقٍ مخصصة للدراجات الهوائية والمشاة تقدم حلولاً موثوقة وصديقة للبيئة في مجال النقل.

ويعتمد مجلس قطر للمباني الخضراء ممارسات مستدامة بيئياً لتصميم البنى التحتية المستدامة وتطويرها في جميع أنحاء الدولة.

النقل المستدام (الأخضر)

استثمرت دولة قطر في مشاريع النقل العام والبنية التحتية المستدامة بصورة مكثفة بهدف بناء نظام نقل متكامل عالمي متعدد الوسائط يقدم خدمات موثوقة وآمنة وصديقة للبيئة.

يعد مترو الدوحة عماد رؤية دولة قطر لنظام نقل عام متكامل يهدف إلى إحداث ثورة في قطاع النقل في جميع أنحاء الدوحة. ويربط مترو الدوحة بين المناطق المختلفة في العاصمة بسرعة وسهولة وأمان، ما يجعله خياراً أكثر استدامة من السيارات الخاصة، علماً أن جميع محطات المترو مصممة للعمل بطريقة تحد من التأثير على البيئة، لا سيما لجهة استهلاك الطاقة والمياه.

يشكل ميناء حمد مركزاً حديثاً ومرناً للشحن البحري يسترشد بمعايير الاستدامة المعتمدة دولياً، ما يضمن توافق عمليات اختيار المواد واستهلاك المياه واستخدام الطاقة بصورة تقلل من انبعاثات الكربون وآثارها على البيئة.

وتلتزم الخطوط الجوية القطرية بالتعاون مع قطاع الطيران من أجل تحقيق الأهداف البيئية المرجوة، وهي حاصلة على اعتماد برنامج التقييم البيئي التابع لاتحاد النقل الجوي الدولي، والذي يوفر إطاراً لضمان التحسين المستمر للأداء البيئي عبر الوظائف التشغيلية المختلفة.

كما تجري دولة قطر أبحاثاً طويلة الأجل لمعالجة الأولويات البيئية في قطاع الطاقة، من خفض كمية غاز الميثان إلى التعاون مع الشركاء الاستراتيجيين لتطوير تقنيات احتجاز الكربون وتخزينه ودمجها في جميع العمليات.

دولة قطر والطاقة

بصفتها واحدة من أبرز مصدري الغاز الطبيعي المسال، الذي يعد واحداً من أكثر أنواع الوقود نظافة في العالم، تعمل دولة قطر على تلبية احتياجات الدول الأخرى من الطاقة، مع تخفيض انبعاثات الكربون الناتجة عن استخدام الفحم.

في شهر يناير 2021، أطلقت شركة ”قطر للطاقة“ استراتيجيتها الجديدة للاستدامة التي يتجلى فيها التزامها وشعورها الكبير بالمسؤولية بصفتها من أكبر منتجي الطاقة. وتحدد الاستراتيجية الجديدة عدداً من الأهداف التي تتماشى مع أهداف اتفاق باريس، وتشمل الاستراتيجية خطةً تهدف إلى تخفيض انبعاثات الغازات الدفيئة بنسبة 25% بحلول العام 2030.

وأطلقت دولة قطر محطة أم الحول للطاقة، إحدى أكبر محطات تحلية المياه وإنتاج الطاقة في المنطقة. وتحرص المحطة على الحد من التلوث وحماية البيئة، وتدير أنشطتها بصورة صديقة للبيئة على المستويات كافة.

وفي شهر يناير 2020، أعلنت دولة قطر عن مشروع بناء محطة الخرسعة – وهي أول محطة كبرى لإنتاج الكهرباء من الطاقة الشمسية. وستؤمن المحطة الطاقة المستدامة والنظيفة بتكلفة معقولة للمواطنين القطريين والشركات القطرية.

كما تُجري دولة قطر أبحاثاً طويلة الأجل لمعالجة الأولويات البيئية في قطاع الطاقة، بدءاً بتقليل غاز الميثان وليس انتهاءً بالعمل مع شركاء استراتيجيين لتطوير ودمج تقنيات احتجاز الكربون وتخزينه في جميع العمليات.

الاستدامة في بطولة كأس العالم FIFA قطر 2022™

تجسد التزام دولة قطر بالاستدامة في استعداداتها لبطولة كأس العالم FIFA قطر 2022™، والتي كانت في صميم البطولة بدءاً بالتصميم وحتى التنفيذ، مع تركيزها على مجالات رئيسية مثل البنية التحتية، والبيئة، والتنمية الاجتماعية، وريادة الأعمال. تعرفوا على المزيد حول جهود دولة قطر لترك إرث دائم هنا.

التحول الرقمي

في إطار استراتيجيتها طويلة الأمد الرامية إلى دفع عجلة التنويع الاقتصادي والتحول الرقمي في البلاد، استضافت دولة قطر النسخة الثانية من إكسبو الدوحة للمدن الذكية 2022، والذي استعرض أفضل الحلول والتطبيقات الذكية لبناء مستقبل أفضل عماده الاستدامة.

حضر المعرض عدد من الخبراء من جميع أنحاء العالم وناقشوا الدور المحتمل للذكاء الاصطناعي، وقواعد البيانات المتسلسلة، والحوسبة السحابية في تحول الإدارة الحضرية وتطويرها. كما سلطت المناقشات الضوء على الدور غير المتوقع لجائحة كوفيد-19 في تسريع عملية تطوير الأدوات الرقمية والتطبيقات الذكية التي أسهمت – ولا تزال – في تجاوز التحديات الملحة التي صاحبت انتشار الجائحة.

استقطب الحدث 2500 زائراً وأكثر من 70 متحدثاً وخبيراً من خلفيات مختلفة في مجال التحول الرقمي والمدن الذكية. وتجدر الإشارة إلى أن وزارة الاتصالات وتكنولوجيا المعلومات كانت قد نظمت هذا الحدث الذي حضره ممثلون عن 20 دولة، بالإضافة إلى 40 جهة عارضة وراعية، وذلك بالشراكة مع برنامج قطر الذكية «تسمو».

ونظمت وزارة النقل والمواصلات النسخة الأولى من معرض الدوحة للمدن الذكية عام 2019 بالشراكة مع شركة ”فيرا دي برشلونة“. وركز المعرض على الدور المنوط بالتكنولوجيا الذكية للمساهمة في إنجاح الشركات الناشئة، وشهد مشاركة أكثر من 90 متحدثاً و100 شركة ناشئة و300 جهة عارضة و300 من رواد الأعمال والمبتكرين الذين تبادلوا الأفكار حول أحدث الحلول الذكية لتجاوز التحديات التي تواجهها المدن الحديثة اليوم.